saying goodbye

4 05 2013

One of the most poignant things that I do is take the funerals of those who have lost children, especially those they have never held alive. This is a time to be with people in grief, where there are no easy answers, no memories to treasure, no life to recall. Just silence. 

It so happened the day I got the call this week, I came across this spoken word piece from the excellent Dai Woolridge, written for the charity Saying Goodbye, who provide support for those who grieve the loss of children. 

I thoroughly recommend it. 

If he seems familiar, I featured Dai’s spoken word Christmas Chord before, and we used it in our Carol Service. 

Actions

Information

2 responses

5 05 2013
Shelley

I’ve only been following your blog here for a small while and I am normally content to just read and not comment on these things. But I just want to say one little thing…as someone who lost two babies at five months into my pregnancies I realise why God brought me here…its been awhile since I spoke to Him about it…in the wee small hours this morning this broken heart opened up again. Its been a very long time. Thank you for posting this. I don’t think I ever really let myself say goodbye with a clear understanding of what it meant to have said hello to begin with. I do now. 🙂

5 05 2013
Kevin

Thank you so much for sharing that… I hope God takes you to a place of saying goodbye and to a place of rest in your head and your heart, and that there is somebody you can talk to about it. God bless.

What are you thinking?

