harmless halloween

31 10 2011

Halloween is harmless. We all know that. What harm can dressing up as witches and ghouls and zombies do to anyone? So let’s stop being grouchy Christians and let them get on with it. Let’s allow our halls to be hired for Halloween parties. Let’s light up the pumpkins. Let’s slap on the face-paint and join in.

That would be the easy call anyway. And the one most people make.

Part of me wants to believe that. Part of me knows that there’s a whole load of fun to have. I’ve just read the 4th Harry Potter. I love Shawn of the Dead

But I can’t let it rest like that. I don’t have a well-developed theology of demons and spirits and the rest of the dark-side. But I know it is there. I have prayed in people’s houses for evil spirits to leave. I have prayed for spiritual oppression to leave an area and felt it go. And I do, after all, follow Jesus who broke the power of sin and death defeated the Great Deceiver and so I have to believe there are dark forces. Not like the Frank Perretti books of old first taught me. But it is real.

And so to glorify the dark side cannot be right. Even for comedy value. It’s not about being kill-joys. It‘s about knowing the hold darkness has on people, knowing that Jesus can and does and is breaking that hold, and not wanting to undermine that or mock it. I know so many people who live in my area go to spiritualist churches. I want to be a part of breaking this hold. And not to be seen to be condoning it. This is not to be taken lightly.

Jesus is not harmless. Jesus takes us to dangerous and uncomfortable and difficult places, and he loves us and carries us through. So Halloween cannot be harmless. Focusing on the darkness cannot be harmless.

No matter how much we want it to be.

Actions

Information

12 responses

31 10 2011
Jeyna Grace

True what you said, but halloween was also renamed as all hallows eve by the christians. So.. if you look at it in a diff perspective, halloween can be for the good as well.

31 10 2011
Heidi

When I 1st started reading this I thought “Umm Kevin, I am going to strongly disagree with you here” but then I read on….
In a magazine I get -one Christian said that they deal with it thus ;
they ask that visitors to house wear pretty light shiny happy costumes, they will then get a sweet and a little Christian gift like a rubber or pencil with some words on it like ‘Jesus loves you’. And they then pledge to donate an amount like £1 for every visitor to 3rd world country to feed a child’

I know someone who used to be a black witch, who was very deeply into all things ‘dark’ and I can understand what damage letting a little in can make.

I know too, that when I was into Spiritual other world stuff my life was a shambles and a very big mess.

31 10 2011
c2drl

In an age where the ‘rational’ is the only thing that matters, then things spiritual are not taken seriously and are at best seen as somehting for you to believe in if you choose. But rational is onloy one side of our brain and there are things spiritual to be taken into account too. We should not just seek freedon from the dark side but should enjoy and celebrate association with the light side, the spiritual life that is part of being a Christian. Oh, of course that comes next in the calendar.

31 10 2011
David Eversden

I agree Kevin. lifting darknes to lofty places through cellebration is opening up a door to permission that you do not want. Why Does the devil tempt God’s people to sin? He has been booted out of our lives by Christ and no longer has direct access to influence so he has to pusuade us through temptation to agree with him and then he can influence our minds again on the back of that. In In Order to have authority in this world you need to be flelsh and blood since God gave men and women authority over the earth. That is why Jesus came as man. God entered our realm as a man to win back the authority lost by Adam and Eve who gave it over to the devil. He said to Jesus, having showed him all the kingdoms of the world, “I will give you all their authority and splendor; it has been given to me, and I can give it to anyone I want to. If you worship me, it will all be yours.” (Luke 4:5-7).

Piont is Adam and Eve surrendered ours and their authority to Satan. Satan brought darkness and sin into the world for he was already reduced by is own rebelion into that realm. Satan rules over the unsaved and has influence over their minds and lives because they are still in his realm. Indeed, they do not no what they are doing and think it strange that we do not plunge in with them (1 Peter 4:4 NIV). Satan is always looking for permision to bring his influence into this realm, that is why I think there are so many relgions, but only one God. Bow down and worship me? If He did expose his true self I am sure many would run a mile, but He hides behind images and philosophies and beleif systems to make people his slaves or rather empty vessels that he can use for his own destructive purposes.

Jesus won the battle for us through not bowing to the temptations and ultimately through the cross. he concludes after the great words from his lips, “it is Finished”, with “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me”. (Matthew 28:18). Now Jesus the new head of the human race, the last Adam and the Second Man, has All the authority in both realms, spirit and body. He has taken from the devil all his authority. No Body is above Jesus, and Jesus invites us to sit in Authority with him, and with a word of command, we can tell the devil where to go and he has to, but we only have as much authority as we submit to God, hence James says, Submit To God (1st), Resist the devil (2nd), and He will flee from you (3rd). In That order. If you do not submit to Christ you have no rights to tell the devil where to go.

Praise God for Christ who has disarmed the powers and authorities, made a public spectacle of them, triumphing over them by the cross. Colossians 2:15. Amen!

31 10 2011
vic

My hubby and I just had this discussion, thanks for giving us the conclusion!! :-))

1 11 2011
Graham

Eek, I just wrote a post for tomorrow saying the opposite of what you said. Maybe ‘opposite’ is not quite true, just different. Thanks for making me think…. 🙂

2 11 2011
Digging a lot » Blog Archive » It’s spooky….

[…] a good, alternative take on this see https://theblogofkevin.wordpress.com/2011/10/31/harmless-halloween/) Related Posts:Friday MusicShapes of Future Church:6Shapes of Future Church:3The SimpsonsSome […]

2 11 2011
Halloween Reflections « The Vicar's Wife

[…] category. Dr BexL at the BIGBible Project  had loads of good ideas and Kevin on his blog and Dan on his blog had useful stuff too. We at the Vicarage were glad to have seized this new […]

3 11 2011
ruth

Thanks Kevin…really helpful. Our kids really found it hard as everyone dressed up at school but we decided to take the stand and we talked about how it is not harmless and that often peoples lives are so dark and sad that we do not want to celebrate it and instead focus on God and light and what he has to offer. It was hard but they sort of understood. It seems to be getting bigger and bigger every year. Good to hear someone thinking what we are thinking!!!

5 11 2011
Chris

All Hallows Eve is the Christian celebration with All Saints Day to follow. As I became a Christian on All Saints Day in 1980 this has always been a very special time of year for me. I don’t believe we should join in the secular celebrations of halloween but can positively celebrate the fact that Jesus’s light shines in the darkness and the darkness has not and will not overcome it. We had a light party at our local church and the kids (and no doubt some of the adults too) had a good time.

30 10 2015
Dorothy

thank you. You’ve reminded me that Christianity isn’t some kind of psychological mind-game prop to get us through, that there is a reality beyond our physical one. You’ve reminded me of times when I has also prayed and felt the oppression lift, when I’ve known the power of the Spirit flowing through me to touch and heal, that this current darkness isn’t the whole story. And that God is in this as in all that is.

30 10 2015
Kevin

Thanks Dorothy.

What are you thinking?

