turn my back

9 05 2011

I turn my back on you
The Lord Almighty
I turn my back.

I turn my back because I can hear the pain
yelling from behind the closed front door.
I turn my back because the sadness seeps out of the cracks in the driveway
spreading from under the abandoned car
and trembles in people’s eyes behind every prolonged blink.

I turn my back because though I know you are not here to make us feel better
you could at least make a goodwill gesture.
Perhaps just a cough.

A cough from you could change our world.

I turn my back on you
The Lord Almighty
I turn my back.

I turn my back because people are to be cherished
and I see little evidence of cherishing.

I turn my back because a family should be together
and I see togetherness fractured by brokenness.

I turn my back because I talk of you changing the world
and I want to see it
and yet I can’t even let you change me.

Because that is too hard.

You should do it without my help.

I turn my back because I am angry.
I am sad.
I am clutching at straws.
I turn my back because everywhere circles the enemy in
fear
loss
mistrust
deceit
in giving up.

I turn my back on you
The Lord Almighty
I turn my back.


Actions

Information

4 responses

10 05 2011
c2drl

Its OK to turn your back on me, I can take it.
Its OK to get angry I can feel it.
Its OK to feel pain, you are sharing mine.

My child I understand, remember I have travelled with you since before it all began.
Every tear you have wept I have wept with you.
Every time you have reached out to help somebody has brought joy to my heart.

Those are the things I remember, your caring, your reaching out, your taking risks to show my love, your desire to be changed, your longing to change the world.

You tell me there are things you have done wrong. Why do you remind me of these, I cannot recall them. You see, not only did I make you, but I am remaking you. And it is good. That is all you need to know, that is all I think of when I talk with you.

My child, be still and know that I am God and I do not call you so that I can put the burden on your shoulders, I call you so that you can share my joy in my creation.

10 05 2011
faith rowbury

I turn to you,
The Lord Almighty,
I turn to you

I turn to you, you are deep inside my heart already,
My whole being is led by a desire to be more like you,
I turn to you, you are the centre of our lives
You are the creator, you are the Holy One.

I cry out for you, when I don’t understand,
When I don’t get what you want me to do or say,
I cry out for you, Jesus help me, stand with me on this one,
You are my friend, my Saviour.

I call for you,to ask for your forgiveness,
When the things I do are selfish and wrong,
I call for you, the only one who can save me from my sin,
Lord Jesus, the only one who died upon the cross for me.

I rejoice to you,my life is so changed,
The blessings you have thrown upon me,
I rejoice you, your love is just there,
Lord Jesus, you are amazing.

x x x

10 05 2011
fran

I come in thanks Lord Jesus for the people you lead me to.
for the people i know that share their brokeness with me and let me in.
for those who are seeking you and knowing that there is more than this world.

I come in thanks Lord jesus that you change lives, but you will not steel our free will.
You will not take away our choice.
You love us too too much.

I come in thanks Lord Jesus for you have changed the world i have known, you have given me grace that i cannot fathom. You wrestle with us as we try to understand this place, this earth.

I come in thanks that i know you have blessed, you are blessing and you will bless.
I come in thanks that you have loved, you are loving and you will love.

11 05 2011
Kevin

3 fantastic and inspiring responses! Thank you peoples 🙂

What are you thinking?

