shoulda bought a honda

23 02 2010

There’s a cheeky mickey-take of charismatics in which you pretend you are speaking in tongues by repeating over and over again “shoulda bought a Honda”, or “cannot find the keys to my Sierra”. Try it. It’s pretty convincing. Whilst I would of course never advocate taking the mickey out of charismatics (for I am one, and I know how serious they can be), these are helpful things to know if being viewed suspiciously at a gathering of said people who might be feeling your touch of the charismata is a little light today.

Of course, the Ford Sierra, is sadly gone. “Cannot find the keys to my Mondeo” sounds a bit more, well, mundane. But Honda?


Honda – The Power of Dreams. The power of dreams. I like that. Why use that to sell cars? Because it evokes something within us, something deep, something that longs to make a reality of those dreams we have that fizzle out when we wake up, that we close our eyes to try and recapture, that disappear into the space above our minds where only dreams and migraines live.

The power of dreams. People devote their lives to dreams. Give up everything for dreams. What power they have, these things we cannot grasp, cannot see, but can imagine into existence, our curiosity driving us to explore, to entertain, to grow mustard seeds into trees.

curiosity is everywhere

Curiosity, you see, is everywhere.  That’s another Honda slogan. Curiosity is everywhere. It evokes images in my mind of being a small boy and investigating the unknown – the spare room, the garden, the woods, my mind. I still do it. Curiosity is good. It’s why I studied theology. Curiosity is everywhere. Explore, discuss, debate. No secrets.

I learnt to drive in a Honda. But I have never owned a Honda. I cannot vouch for them. But maybe I shoulda bought a Honda. Because with ideas like The Power of Dreams and Curiosity is Everywhere, if Honda was a church, I’d want be in it. If Honda was a leader, I would want to listen. If Honda was a rabbi, I would want to follow their curious dream.


Actions

Information

2 responses

23 02 2010
c2drl

What an interesting line of thought! I’m with you as you go along it but it seems to me that sadly most Christians aren’t wanting to go there. If you believe in the power of dreams you have to be prepared to rise above the here and now and think that things can be on an altogether higher plane. To me that’s true Christianity but it seems to me that most of us are stuck in the vitally unimportant issues of today, what songs we sing, what gender is the Bishop, who do we let in and who do we exclude rather than rising above all that and focussing on a transcendent God.

As for curiosity is everywhere to go there you have to accept that we don’t know all the answers or even understand the questions and that exploring God’s universe, daring to ask questions and to hear opinions different from our own is not only OK but good. In how many Churches does this happen?

I wish I’d found a Church that dared to dream and was curious enough to ask deep questions.

5 03 2010
Fran

Sometimes being the voice of a daring to dream person can change the whole direction of others around, by being a walking inspiration! This week i went to a funeral of a man who was very ordinary, and yet the people there told us how extraordinary he was. How extraordinary it was to be a person who listened to others, who gave time to people, who share’d faith in a gentle way, who held faith deep deep deeply, and who embraced life. Why are these things extraordinary? Why are they not the ordinary things that we do as we learn to live this life loved, as we learn to live this life fully, as we learn to dream dreams with hope. Where are our voices who are daring to dream dreams and change the direction of others around. God bless you David Butcher you ordinary, extraordinary man. thank you for your courage.

What are you thinking?

